Day 24.2: Big Meal in a Little Town


Day 24
Date: Thursday, Sep 29, 2016
Start: O Porrino
Stop: Hotel Isape, Arcade     👍
Distance (Day/Total): 23/557 km
High Temp: 26 C/79 F

A single thumbs up or down is simply an indication of whether I would stay there again or not.  It is not a recommendation.  A double thumbs up or down indicates that the place was great and I highly recommend it or absolutely awful and stay away.

After another hot and sweaty day, got into Arcade around 1:30 pm.  Kinda early but I’m going to stop here.  Got to the Hotel Duarte, which was a short distance before the town center.  The property looked recently renovated and was made up of 3 distinct buildings, an albergue, a hotel and a restaurant.  Woman at the front desk was walking out but confirmed that they had plenty of beds and, yes, they had one single room in the hotel but it wasn’t ready yet.  She was on her way to run an errand and would be back in 5 minutes.  No problem.  I was going to get a beer at the restaurant, which had a very nice patio.

While having a beer, Sameer, Sue and Rebecca showed up.  They took a break and decided that they would stay there also but in the albergue.  There was a guy there who I took to be the owner.  While I was paying he went to the hotel front desk.  When I got there, he was going through what the registration book and talking to the woman I had spoken to earlier.  He did not sound happy and the woman appeared tense and upset.  He walked off. She said that there was some sort of mistake.  Not sure I fully understood but the bottom line was that the rate was going to be €10 more.  That really irritated me and I knew there was another hotel in the town center.  So, I moved on.  Later on I found out that Sameer and company decided not to stay there but go to Pontevedra, a much larger town.

IMG_3095Hotel Isape was older but clean.  The regular pilgrim rate was €35, the pilgrim rate €30 and cash was €25.  Shower and went exploring.  The streets were deserted.  Most of the stores were closed.  I hadn’t had lunch but decided to have a beer and and a snack at a cafe.  Afterwards walked around some more but decided it was just too hot and returned to the hotel.

Decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant/bar.  There were a few people drinking and watching a soccer game.  The waiter seemed a little taken aback that I wanted to eat this early but as always accommodated me.  Not having had lunch, I was starving and ordered the works – salad, wine, bread, entree, dessert and coffee.  Ordered chicken breast, which was just that, grilled chicken breast.  I had kinda expected a sauce.  I let the waiter recommend a dessert, which was a surprise in that it was a two parter but really good.  Meal was €15 and another €1.60 for a glass of wineAround the end of the meal, fireworks started going off.  It was the little church across the street with some post service celebration.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

