Day 21: Promenade ’em to Ponte de Lima


Day 21
Date: Monday, Sep 26, 2016
Start: Barcelos
Stop: Hotel Imperio do Norte, Ponte de Lima    👍
Dist (Day/Total): 33/474 km
High Temp: 22 C/72 F

A single thumbs up or down is simply an indication of whether I would stay there again or not.  It is not a recommendation.  A double thumbs up or down indicates that the place was great and I highly recommend it or absolutely awful and stay away.

Didn’t get going until 7:45 am.  Skipped breakfast.  Missed a blaze and nearly ended up leaving town the wrong way.  Something didn’t seem right and decided to double-check before I had gone too far.  This is the first trip where I don’t have a paper guide.  I’m using a free (donation appreciated) pdf guide from CSJ and I also have the waypoints saved on Google Maps.  Both the guide and waypoints are slightly outdated but between those two and the trail blazes it was perfectly manageable.  

IMG_3003       IMG_2999

Don’t recall much about today’s walk and didn’t write anything about it in my journal.  Checking the pictures I took that day and I recalled these piles of clothes along the way.  Because this is after Porto, where most pilgrims start, I wonder if these are clothes pilgrims have jettisoned.  I didn’t take too close a look but they didn’t look like hiking type clothes.  Plus I want to believe that no pilgrim would toss shit by the side of the trail.  Second pic:  Longhorns in Portugal.

IMG_3018Ponte de Lima is on the River . . .  take a guess . . .  Wrong!!!!

Its on the River Limia.  That’s right, Limia, not Lima.  In this picture you can see the river on the left and the stone medieval bridge that the town is named after, in the background.  This is the tree lined promenade that takes you into town.  The trees are supposed to be hundreds of years old according to a local person.  Probably true because Ponte de Lima is one of the oldest towns in Portugal and site of a Roman village.

IMG_3026
At the bridge on the way out of Ponte de Lima

My hotel was at the end of this promenade.  Had dinner at a restaurant next door.  Once again I.m the first one for dinner.  Not sure they were even ready for the dinner crowd but too polite to say no.  The waitress spoke pretty good English and told me a little bit about the town.  She was really enthusiastic about their roasted turkey, which is not a common item in Portugal.  This was the one and only time I saw it on the menu.  Feeling just a little bit homesick, I ordered it.  Let me just say, stick with what the locals excel at, which in this case would be either cod or roasted pork.

Leave a Reply

