Day 18: Porto Intermission


Day 18
Date: Friday, Sep 23, 2016
Start:
Stop: Eurostars Porto Douro, Porto     👍
Dist (Day/Total): Sick Day
High Temp:

A single thumbs up or down is simply an indication of whether I would stay there again or not.  It is not a recommendation.  A double thumbs up or down indicates that the place was great and I highly recommend it or absolutely awful and stay away.

I woke up wide-eyed and bushy-tailed.  Had breakfast at the hostel.  Very basic – bread, butter, jam, coffee and tea.  There may have been fruit and yogurt.  Not because I vaguely recall it but because there’s always fruit and yogurt.  I check on cancellations.  None.  I start digging thru Booking.com and Expedia.  What’s left is pretty expensive.  I pick the least expensive, which is still over €200.  It’s on the river but away from the center of the action, which probably explains why rooms were still available.  It’s brand new and very nice.  Business must be good because they’re building an extension into the hillside.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The rest of the day, I play tourist.  I have coffee at a riverside cafe, check out the cathedral, some churches and a museum, have a couple of beers, crash a Hogwarts reunion, learn about and eat a francesinha and talk to some random people.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

