Camino Day 50: TGV to Santiago


“Tout Ce Que Tu Crois Devient Vrai.”
– All that you believe becomes true.

Day 50:  Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Day 50: Santiago de Compostela, Spain

I got up before sunrise and within 15 minutes was on my way.
There were several other people up, fumbling in the dark, trying to stash their stuff in their packs.
Rookies!
You do all that the night before.
Get up, grab your sleeping bag and your pack and go outside the dorm room.
You should have packed last night with the clothes you are going to wear on top of the pack.
Get dressed outside, stuff your sleeping bag back in it’s bag, brush your teeth and you are on your way.

Whenever you leave a town in the dark, there is some light in the beginning – from street lights, house lights etc. But eventually, depending on how large the town or village is, it will get pitch dark. It’s very spooky walking in the dark by yourself. The meseta was very nice. Because of how dark it was, you could really see the stars. Also, I was walking with someone thru the meseta and while we hardly spoke a word, it was good walking that leg with someone.

The last 44 kms was very crowded. I guess, like myself, people are looking to wrap this puppy up. Today, I walked by myself and I walked very fast. In France, anyone going really fast was referred to as TGV, which is the French bullet train. As I passed two men, I overheard one guy whisper something to the other in French. All I caught was, “Ah oui, TGV”. I smiled. I miss France. I stepped on the gas.

I made the 44 kms in 8.5 hours, which was the fastest day of my pilgrimage. Like all other large cities, it is a long walk from the point you get into the Santiago and reach the cathedral. Once I get to the center, I grab an ice cream and head to the Compostela office. Man, the line. Initially it moves very slowly but then picks up the pace. In front of me is an American girl who is there with her mother and and her entourage. She had done the pilgrimage from St. Jean. The mother and her people met her in Santiago but were then going to Sarria the next day and walking to Santiago. The daughter was saying she had a great time but she was done and ready to go home. I could completely relate.

Once I got my compostela, I headed to the Albergue Seminario Menor. A dorm bed was 10 euros, a private room was 15. I took the private room.

Leave a Reply

