Camino Day 7: I Catch Up


Day 7:  Abbey at Conques, Conques, France
Day 7: Abbey at Conques, Conques, France
Day 7:  Sainte-Foy Abbey Church, Conques, France
Day 7: Sainte-Foy Abbey Church, Conques, France

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you know, I quit after the first day and nearly went home.  But I regrouped and 3 days later started back up again where I had stopped.  During the first day of walking I met a lot of people, some while hiking and others at the gite in Montbonnet.

Between Conques and the next couple of villages I with caught up with everyone I had made contact with in the first day or found out that they had to pull out due to injuries.  This is where I also learned that despite the miles (or kms), news travels very fast.  People had heard about the American who quit after the first day.  Needless to say I was happy to have seen them so that they knew I was continuing.  And people seemed genuinely happy to see that I had returned.  One Australian guy was very emotional about it and I think it was because he and his wife had both hurt their knees.  It was pretty bad and he knew that they were not going to be able to continue.  He had done the Camino Francis a couple of years ago and had returned with his wife and a friend to do the Le Puy to St. Jean route.  He had found the Camino Francis a very moving experience and he was so adamant about doing the Le Puy route that he had threatened to quit his job when they balked at letting him go.

I met many people like that who had done the Camino Francis and had such a great experience that they were coming back to do another portion of the pilgrimage.  Two Australian women had done Camino Francis earlier.  They were now going to do Le Puy to St. Jean.  As soon as that was done, they were going to fly to Lisbon and do the Portuguese route to Santiago.

Leave a Reply

