Camino Day 6: The Universe Conspires


Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Day 6:  On the Way to Fonteilles, France
Day 6: On the Way to Fonteilles, France
Day 8:  On the Way to Livinhac-le-Haut, France
Day 8: On the Way to Livinhac-le-Haut, France
Day 8:  On the Way to Livinhac-le-Haut, France
Day 8: On the Way to Livinhac-le-Haut, France

Since my “Camino reboot”, it has been cold and wet.  At this stage I just want to get my week in and go home.  I normally don’t eat breakfast, a habit that I continue.  But I also start skipping lunch.  My fourth day is the longest – 41 kms in 12 hours to Nasbinals.

On the 6th day I head out from St. Come d’Olt.  As usual, walk out of town is on asphalt and at a certain point the trail goes off-road and I can see it is steep, rocky and slippery.  I am contemplating my next move when the couple in the first picture walk by.  He can’t take his wheeled buggy up that route and they are going to stay on the road.  I decide to tag along with them.  He has several maps plus being French he can always ask for directions back to the GR65.

They are Jean Claude and Marie Annick from Brittany, France and I end up walking with them for the next 7 days.  They help me with my French, teach how to make reservations and ask basic questions.  They have a routine where in the morning they go to a boulangerie for bread, then a market for beer and/or wine and whatever they are going to have for lunch and dinner that day.  They eat breakfast.  They take breaks.  They stop for lesiurely lunches, including a post-lunch coffee, which they offer to anyone walking by.   The second picture is where they invited others to have coffee with them.  So, with the exception of breakfast, I start doing the same.

They came at just the right time, when I was starting to get disheartened.  Walking with them reinvigorated me and I even contemplated going all the way to St. Jean.

Leave a Reply

